Bora-Hansgrohe show Sagan did not make a mistake in sprint
Sagan was disqualified from the race after clashing with Mark Cavendish in the sprint finish at the end of the stage four, causing the Manxman to crash heavily, breaking his shoulder blade and being forced to abandon the race.
Sagan and his Bora-Hansgrohe disputed the disqualification at the time, and decided to take the case to the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS), arguing that the UCI commissaires were wrong to disqualify Sagan.
However, with the hearing due to take place today (Tuesday), Sagan, Bora-Hansgrohe, and the UCI have jointly agreed to bring the case to a close and look to learn from the future.
“Having considered the materials submitted in the CAS proceedings, including video footage that was not available at the time when the race jury had disqualified Peter Sagan, the parties agreed that the crash was an unfortunate and unintentional race incident and that the UCI commissaires made their decision based on their best judgment in the circumstances,” read a joint press release issued by the UCI and Bora-Hansgrohe.
“On this basis, the parties agreed not to continue with the legal proceedings and to focus on the positive steps that can be taken in the future